Alaska's Territorial Delegates 1906-1958

KCollege.Access.ContactIf you are not a current Kalamazoo College student, faculty, or staff member, email to request access to this thesis.
dc.contributor.advisorSpencer, Ivor Debenham, 1909-1987
dc.contributor.authorJackson, Lynne
dc.descriptioniii, 80 p.en_US
dc.description.abstractA history of Alaska's Territorial Delegates to Congress offers a unique view of the politics of America's last frontier. Between 1906 and 1958, eight men in turn represented the Alaskan territory in Washington. D.C. through their presence and through varying degrees of activity, limited by the fact that they had no vote. Such a study also offers a well-rounded view of 20th century Alaskan history, as it spans the the Gold Rush Era, through World War II, and on to the final fight for Alaskan statehood. This basic overview of 20th century Alaskan development in terms of the territorial delegates, then allows an appreciation and understanding of the fiftieth state rarely afforded by pictures of igloos and references to the "frozen north" commonly found in textbooks.en_US
dc.relation.ispartofKalamazoo College History Senior Individualized Projects Collection
dc.relation.ispartofseriesSenior Individualized Projects. History.;
dc.rightsU.S. copyright laws protect this material. Commercial use or distribution of this material is not permitted without prior written permission of the copyright holder. All rights reserved.
dc.titleAlaska's Territorial Delegates 1906-1958en_US