Show simple item record

dc.contributor.advisorSmith, Lawrence R. (Lawrence Rackley), 1932-
dc.contributor.advisorRay, Harry Burton, 1919-2010
dc.contributor.authorCoon, Judith Arlene
dc.description68 p.en_US
dc.description.abstractJohannes Brahms (1833-1897) wrote four works especially for the clarinet and became the first master musician since Carl Maria von Weber to really concentrate his energies on the instrument. Like Weber and Mozart before him, Brahms was inspired to compose his music by a great clarinetist. Brahms met this outstanding musician, Richard Muh1fe1d of Meiningen, at what was to be near·the end of his composing career. Thus it is not surprising to find that the works are all masterfully worked out although some of the spontaneous invention of youth is missing.en_US
dc.relation.ispartofKalamazoo College Music Senior Individualized Projects Collection
dc.rightsU.S. copyright laws protect this material. Commercial use or distribution of this material is not permitted without prior written permission of the copyright holder. All rights reserved.
dc.titleThe Clarinet Works of Johannes Brahmsen_US

Files in this item


This item appears in the following Collection(s)

  • Music Senior Individualized Projects [77]
    This collection includes Senior Individualized Projects (SIP's) completed in the Music Department. Abstracts are generally available to the public, but PDF files are available only to current Kalamazoo College students, faculty, and staff.

Show simple item record